Douglas Luiz criticises officiating after Manchester United were awarded penalty against Aston Villa - Webbertips


Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Saturday, January 2, 2021

Douglas Luiz criticises officiating after Manchester United were awarded penalty against Aston Villa

Source: Dailymail

Aston Villa star Douglas Luiz has lashed out at the controversial decision to award Manchester United a penalty in their win over his team at Old Trafford on Friday.

Image credit:Getty images

Luiz was adjudged to have fouled Paul Pogba inside the box in the second half, although replays then showed the United midfielder tripping over his own leg after the duo tangled.

Villa boss Dean Smith was left angered by the officiating over the incident - and Luiz also joined the dissenting voices when taking to Twitter soon after the final whistle.

Bruno Fernandes was able to keep his composure and smash home the spot-kick from 12 yards, handing United a crucial three points which sent them level on points with leaders Liverpool.

The moment, which decided the outcome of the clash, came just a matter of minutes after Villa had equalised through Bertrand Traore's neat finish.

With frustration mounting among the ranks at the Midlands outfit, Luiz tweeted footage of the incident and took aim at the failure of VAR to properly intervene.

Image credit: Getty images

'I see this video, I can't believe it was a penalty,' he wrote. 'I always support fairer football, with fewer mistakes, but then I stop and see these types of moves.

'If we have VAR to help, LET'S start using it CORRECTLY. These mistakes can define the future of clubs!'

Referee Michael Oliver quickly pointed to the spot after Pogba was felled when looking to spin beyond Luiz and a brief VAR check allowed the decision to stand.

The official did not check his pitch-side monitor, however, in a move which left Smith openly bemused.

Read more....

He told Sky Sports: 'I thought it was a penalty at the time, but I looked at it after the game and saw he tripped himself. I don't see why Michael (Oliver) couldn't have looked at it.

'That's what VAR is for isn't it? He's tripped himself up. There's margins in football. I've seen it again, and I don't think it's a penalty.'

Anthony Martial was also on target for the hosts on New Year's Day, converting with a neat header following Aaron Wan-Bissaka's cross.

Villa were made to suffer their first away defeat since the end of November - and only their fifth overall from their last 15 games.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Responsive Ads Here